An Open Letter To My Son’s Second Grade Teacher

2ndgrade

Reposted from Education Rethink:

“I’m realizing that the diversity in experience is a part of how a child grows. So far my son has had to cope with different rules and expectations and systems than we have at home. That’s a part of learning. That’s a part of growing up. I know, I know. Kids are supposed to pursue their passions and run with their questions and all of that. However,  one of the best parts of school so far is that my son has learned that he won’t always have his way in education.

Furthermore, I don’t expect you to be perfect. I don’t expect you to get it right every time. You will have thirty kids who are all different. However, truth be known, my kid isn’t always an angel when I’m at home. People say kids are naturally good, but I swear they would have launched nuclear weapons at each other when the three of my kids realized there was only one Popsicle left.

I guess what I’m saying is that I believe we live in a broken world. Systems are broken. Relationships are broken. But somehow beauty breaks through, because there are teachers like you who choose to love thirty strangers and help them grow into critical thinkers. That’s pretty amazing to me. So, I’m not going to tell you how you should run your classroom. This letter is mostly just a heads-up ahead of time to say, “Thanks for what you do everyday.” It’s pretty amazing.”

Read More…

Share your thinking!

