Being a Classroom Teacher is a 365-Day-A-Year Job

KateGagner

Kate Gagner is a fresh practitioner’s voice in the blogosphere with much to contribute and deserving of your consideration. You can follow her on her blog at http://thegagnergang.blogspot.com/ as well as at @KateGagner and facebook.com/teacherkgagner.

Reposted from The Gagner Gang:

“I haven’t been a teacher for very long, less than 10 years, to be exact. In that time, I have become gradually more involved in my job through professional advancement and moving into different capacities at the schools where I’ve worked. As time passes, I realize that being a classroom teacher, or one of many other kinds of education professionals, is really a 365-day-a-year job. Well, all right… Maybe 350 if you count holidays.

Finally, when I got my first consistent work as a classroom teacher just about two years ago, I learned what summers are really for. Yes, they are for barbeques with my family, trying out my new kayak, seeing friends, reading good books, and staying up late, but there is also a whole host of activities that summer brings for a teacher like me. Here are some of the things I have been working on since school let out on June 16th:

  • Networking
  • Planning
  • Collaborating
  • Developing Professionally
  • Cleaning & Organizing
  • Ordering
  • Did I say “Planning” already?
  • Dreaming”

Read More…

Share your thinking!

